dayjob blues

edit: Well, this is odd. WordPress published this while I was asleep last night. I wrote this years ago and never finished it. I no longer have a day job. The sentiments are the same, though. I had intended to create a long list of famous artists and their shitty day jobs. If anyone has any names to add to the paltry list I’ve already got going below, please leave the info as a comment.

I find it hard to understand when fellow-artists decide that I’m not worth their time because I’ve got a corporate dayjob. This day-to-day torture I put myself through will allow me to buy a studio apartment on which I will not have to pay rent. I have a specific goal and deadline for this at which point I will have something that will allow me to continue doing artwork even in my old age. For those of you who are completely lost on the importance of Equity, please note for your own sakes that it’s going to allow me to not sell out in the future. You all have day jobs that are no better than mine. You may think that working in a design house makes you less of a sell-out than I, but my creativity is not being marred by a client.

Famous artists and their shitty day jobs:

  • Joseph Cornell was a door to door salesman
  • Beksinski was a construction site supervisor
  • De Kooning was painting other peoples murals at least through his 30’s
  • Gauguin was a stock broker
  • T. S. Eliot was a banker
  • Philip Glass was a taxi driver and a plumber
  • Charles Ives was an insurance executive
  • Kurt Vonnegut was a car dealer
  • Rene Magrite worked at a wallpaper factory
Leave a Reply

