corrosion

Generally, the Corrosion sculptures are explorations of the changes and movements that occur over long periods of time to objects, mostly inanimate, and the personification or anthropomorphization our human perceptions tend to place upon them as they age.

More specifically, they are abstractions of the deformations that dust might make on an old picture, that moss and rust might create on an abandoned piece of metal or that illness and age might make upon our memories. They are interpretations of how nature, time and clouded memory keep control of our man-made surroundings no matter how much we clean, pill-pop, rebuild, scrape off, spray or kill.

Photos by Lori Reilly

The Aspirin Box Leaks:

Meditation on a Cranberry Bog:

The Flower and the Beach:

Keyed In:

Attacking the Moth:

Bugged Bread Box:

Locket and Coral:

I also feel a strong connection between these sculptures and this:
“Kipple is useless objects, like junk mail or match folders after you use the last match or gum wrappers or yesterday’s home page. When nobody’s around, kipple reproduces itself. For instance, if you to go bed leaving any kipple around your apartment, when you wake up there is twice as much of it. It always gets more and more. No one can win against kipple, except temporarily and maybe in one spot.”
~Philip K. Dick ‘Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?’

home | artwork | bio | contact
Samantha Levin Fine Arts | curating and management
all images copyright Samantha Levin
5 thoughts on “corrosion

  1. I enjoy this work, even though I don’t quite understand how your thesis statement connects to the visual representations of your art. What are the titles of these pieces? Besides the wire-wrapping and object placement, have you hand-made any of the other elements? I would love to hear more about this, as I find your art quite intriguing.

  2. Hello Adam,
    I’m glad you like these. They are some of my favorite that I’ve made, so it’s nice to know when someone else feels the same.
    My statement here ~ and any one of my statements ~ are only from me. I welcome any interpretation or understanding of my work and would like to hear your interpretation, or why you feel my statement doesn’t quite match.
    There are no titles for these works just yet. I’ve started calling one of them “Meditation on a Cranberry Bog”. I’ll let you figure out which.
    Most of the works are assemblage ~ I did not hand-make the majority of the elements. The parts come from all over: e.g. the street, Chinatown shops, the woods, a gift, etc. I’m a curio fanatic. Overall, where there are paintings or photos in my work, except where mentioned otherwise, they are my originals.

  3. Pingback: projekt 30 « binnorie

Leave a Reply

